on twittering

Standard

I tried to write this post a few days ago, and got it so fouled up in the process that I ended up deleting it. Let’s see if I can be any more coherent today.

Twitter – does it seem like either you love it or hate it?

I’m twittering. I love it.

Himself hates it. With the burning passion of a thousand fiery suns.

Twitter holds the dubious honor of being the first web 2.0 app to divide the household.

What is Twitter? Think of it as IMing the universe. A place to articulate those stream-of-consciousness moments, as they occur. When I first started twittering, I hadn’t yet developed a community of followers and friends. In Twitter-speak, a follower is someone who has chosen to follow your twitterings either by web, or phone. A friend is someone YOU’RE following. Without friends and followers, you are drinking from the web 2.0 firehose. It’s just too much. With friends and followers, I’m sharing my life to a far greater degree of intimacy and immediacy, and sharing their lives. I know when Andy’s gotten on the train, when epred’s got the midnight baby shift, and what’s happening at SXSW.

Speaking of SXSW, I hear they had live projections of twitterings at the conference.
Liveblogging taken up a level.

There have been some hiccups. Questions about utility or futility, impersonations, etc.

But there’s a lot of good stuff out there too.

It’s all about declarative living.

13 responses »

  1. I do agree. I’d say it’s either “you” or it isn’t. It’s very “me”. It’s quite “Kelly”. It’s not at all some people I greatly respect, love, value, count as friends. And that’s fine.
    I also think – from the perspective of an observer – it’s great to see the banter between people. You can deduce a fair amount from that. Now to see Barack actually get off his behind and use the Twitter persona he has. After all John Edwards is doing it. See for some more thoughts.

  2. I can’t say I hate it WTBPOATFS but I just don’t see the point. And like any Neandrethal reacting to something new OR he hasn’t thought up yet on his own OR doesn’t initially see the point in – I react by ridiculing it to within an inch of its life… if it survives my attention after that then there is something to it. I have a dedicated tab now, more or less. It is a running log of away messages. I have used those in IM (often in poorly translated French) for years, just never kept a log of it – and with friends, as you say. It is interesting – it promotes a strong reaction in me. Passion has so often been fickle in that it can be strong ‘like’ or strong ‘dislike’ over a given – usually new, thing. Twitter can practically fill the void a receptionist in an office environment used to fill with regards to being able to communicate where you are, what you are doing, perhaps leave a message for you, etc. It’s interesting…

  3. I’m with Himself on this. I really cannot see the point. Please someone explain to me the purpose of living in the pockets of someone the other side of the globe who I’ve never met (and never will meet) 24/7? ISTM this is all about depersonalising and dumbing down everything — the modern opium for the masses — and selling us crap we don’t want or need. It is false progress. As for “declaritive living” I’ve never heard so many round things in my life; pleeeze! More to the point if the IT industry actually did something useful rather than just generate more CO2. Thank god I’m likely to be getting out of this pathetic industry before too long; it’s beginning to make me feel sick.

  4. I can see your point, Keith. I do wonder sometimes about the quickness with which we web 2.0 devotees adopt some of these concepts and run with them.

    But then again, maybe that’s our role as “early adopters” and adventurers in the web 2.0 space … to test drive all the fun stuff and help determine if there is value or not.

  5. What worries me is that in the last few months I seem to be turning into a luddite like my father before me. Only father (who died last year at 86) started being a luddite before the age of colour TV. :-(
    Don’t get me wrong. I love things like flickr, weblogs, conferencing (ah the good old days of bulletin boards! — been there since before PC was born!) and IM. I just don’t get this “let’s wear our whole lives on our sleeves all the time” stuff. I mean, why am I interested in real time that you’re cooking spaghetti or looking for your boots? Why would anyone be interested except you and the dog? :-)

  6. Funny stuff! – I don’t get it at all but the passion is good if nothing else! I have always admired Israelis who seem to live there lives on one level rather than the roles we, as Americans, play – as an employee – or a husband, a father, etc. This maybe is some sort of variation of living one’s life openly and honestly? – of course the owner is the censor so maybe it’s not that at all…

  7. You could argue the “as roles” thing is a philosophical stance as a way of looking at the world, rather than the way the world is.

  8. I agree that the passion is good. If for no other reason than it does make us think about what we are doing, what we really believe in and what actually is important. Which is what I am currently doing — so thanke, Kelly! And each one of us will come up with different answers to those questions — none of which are intrinsically right or wrong. I guess where I’m really at is: just because we can do it, doesn’t mean it is worth doing or that we should do it.

  9. Sorry to sound arrogant :-) but I think the key point is the one I started with: It’s either you or it isn’t. Whether as a writer or a reader. Differing opinions in this thread so far – most thoughtfully put by Himself.
    Personally I feel closer to the peope I follow and I hope those who follow me feel the same way.
    One other thing, as I was discussing with a colleague over tea yesterday:
    With blogging there is almost an obligation to write something well considered, with perhaps a long-winded justification – both of why you’re blogging on this topic and of why your point is what it is. Brevity is rare in blogging – and I think this blog has got it about right. :-) With twittering it’s a much more immediate, much briefer, perhaps less well considered medium. That is more my personal “sweet spot”. YMMV. :-)
    And I consider blogging to contain just as much and as little trivia, ephemera or whatever as twittering. And, as I said before, I like that. Otherwise we’re all just “imaginary acquaintances”, not “imaginary friends”. :-)
    Vicarious living? I love it. :-)

Leave a Reply

