conquering my Power Point demons

I hate Power Point. Wait. To be fair, I don’t hate Power Point. I hate presentation software.

I hate building chartware rather than software. Unfortunately, my work life now revolves greatly around chartware – this presentation for this audience, that presentation for another. Stephen Collins (@trib) from acidlabs is my hero – by creating kick-ass, meaningful and motivational slide decks, time and time again.

It’s time for Kellypuffs to suck it up.

I’ve just ordered two books from Amazon that I hope will help me “learn to stop worrying and love the bomb slide deck.”

Beyond Bullet Points: Using Microsoft® Office PowerPoint® 2007 to Create Presentations That Inform, Motivate, and Inspire

Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery

I’ll let you know if it helps.

9 thoughts on “conquering my Power Point demons

  1. I’ve been lucky to have learnt how to use PowerPoint over the years, and it can be really useful if you know how to use it properly. Not to mention fun. =)

  2. I’m sure this is where some one would make some comment about Dr Strangelove but I really can’t think of one!!!!!

    I think my Mum also strongly dislikes Powerpoint – In her job she doesn’t use it very much so I guess she feels almost like there isnt the nessecity. (Why does it look like it might rain 30 minutes before I have to walk home????:( )

  3. Keynote rocks too – it doesn’t force you down the PowerPoint bullets and templates route. But Presentation Zen will talk about that, and it’s a great read.

  4. I’m amazed that in this day of interactive web 2 point whatever content we still stick to those boring old, pretty much static except for the stupid animations, presentations.

  5. Kelly, you’re extremely generous with your assessment of my presentation authoring and delivery skills. Thank you.

    I rate myself better than most, but certainly not amongst the best. And you don’t need to go too far back to find presentations I’ve done with lots of bullets and text.

    If you want some help or advice and think I might have something valuable to add, I’d be happy to give you a hand. You know where to find me.

    BTW, someone suggested yesterday that I enter the World’s Best Presentation Contest 2008 at SlideShare. Frankly, that terrifies me.

  6. Kelly, Kelly, Kelly. Why are you torturing yourself? Why are you kowtowing to what I can only presume is corporate pressure to conform to the tool choice that other’s make?

    – You use a Mac. Keynote. ‘Nuff said.

    – You work for IBM, a company that supports open standards. So go to openoffice.org Or, be a good corporate doobie, and use symphony.lotus.com, which not only re-uses an awesome code name, but is a shiny and supported version of Open Office that IBM wants people to use.

    The best thing about Symphony is that if someone complains you gave them an .odf instead of a .ppt, you can tell them that odf is the wave of the future, and that they should get on the modern bandwagon, and you can show them how cool you are.

    P.S. Send me a Notes mail and ask me about Soapbox.

  7. Maybe it’s disloyal of me but I’d skip Symphony in favour of the horse’s mouth: OpenOffice. (Beta’ing OO 3 right now.) But maybe someone can articulate why one would go for Symphony over OpenOffice, given the latter is likely to be me more current.

Leave a Reply

