meme-ing, again

A “finishey sentencey meeeeeme”, courtesy of Anna, over at Little Red Boat.

In this meme, you finish a bunch of sentences. You’re also supposed to be tagged by someone (I wasn’t) and tag some others (I won’t).

I just like doing the meme.

So, without further ado ….

The Finishey-Sentencey Meeeeeem

  1. My uncle once: built an airplane in his garage. He was quite the renaissance man.
  2. Never in my life: have I skydived (skydove?), nor do I plan to. It’s really incomprehensible to me why anyone would jump out of a perfectly good airplane… on PURPOSE, no less. I guess I’m not an adrenaline junkie, because you’ll not catch me bungie jumping, either. Or getting branded.
  3. When I was five: dinosaurs roamed the earth. And I walked 5 miles to school and back every day. Uphill. Both ways. I do have a pretty funny story about getting stuck in a snowbank on the way home from school once, but not when I was five.
  4. High school was: Er … a long time ago? High school was something else I don’t remember much of, frankly. And why is that? Records show I was a straight-A student, a band geek, and I had a job at Anderson’s Bakery. I remember working at Anderson’s. I remember playing in the town band on the common. I remember making regular pilgrimages on hot summer days to the one-room schoolhouse-turned-library in town. I don’t remember much about high school. I think that’s probably because I was a LOSER.
  5. I will never forget: Um, nothing? I have a memory like a sieve. I barely remember when my children’s birthdays are. I don’t remember anything past Aug 8, 2008, and even the stuff after Aug 8 is getting blurry. I forget EVERYTHING. I forget where my keys are. I forget doctors’ appointments. I forget to eat. I wonder about when I get old … you always hear about old people whose short-term memory is shot but who can tell amazing stories of days and times long ago. Does that mean that when I get old I’ll finally be able to remember high school?!?
  6. Once I met: Um, drawing a blank here, too.
  7. There’s this girl I know: who just got a pet ferret. It’s the Girl. She’s a bit strange.
  8. Once, at a bar: I had a drink. Call me crazy.
  9. By noon, I’m usually: eating lunch at my desk, sometimes on a conference call, which, if you think about it, is a pretty pathetic way to spend one’s lunchtime. I wasn’t always so lame. I used to go out with colleagues. When I was working next door, the geek posse and I would walk every day to the sub shop up the road, get sandwiches, find an empty conference room back at the office and play cribbage. When I was in the Air Force, the master sergeants in my office taught me to play pinochle during lunch. At GE, we practiced juggling during lunch.
  10. Last night: I baked oatmeal raisin cookies. There weren’t a whole lot of them because I also ate a WHOLE lot of cookie dough. Mmmm. I love cookie dough.
  11. If only I had: wings. Definitely wings. Gossamer, shimmery fairy wings, preferably. THAT would be cool. If my grandmother had wheels, she’d be a wagon.
  12. Next time I go to church: I hope the music will be good. If there are overhead projectors and guitars, I am SO out of there.
  13. What worries me most: that I’m not good enough. I fear I’m not a good enough parent, a good enough manager, a good enough employee, a good enough person. I should probably also worry that I’m too self-absorbed.
  14. When I turn my head left I see: Dogbreath. He’s sticking VERY close as we are rapidly approaching the magical dinner hour.
  15. When I turn my head right I see: Out the dining room windows, yet another thunderstorm is darkening the skies, lightning is flashing, thunder is rumbling and the wind iswhipping the trees in the backyard to a frenzy. No rain yet, but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time. I love thunderstorms, and this summer, we’ve hit the jackpot. I am also happy to report that thunder doesn’t faze the Wonder Dog in the LEAST.
  16. You know I’m lying when: I say: “Yes, I’d LOVE to go to that meeting.”
  17. What I miss most about the Eighties is: Ewoks. Whatever happened to Ewoks, and their nifty little tree-top villages?
  18. If I were a character in Shakespeare I’d be: Beatrice, a la Emma Thompson in Kenneth Branagh’s Much Ado About Nothing, which, by the way, is a FINE film, marred only by the wooden performance of Keanu Reeves. Go. Watch it. Now.
  19. By this time next year: I can’t imagine much will change. I’ll be one year older, and wondering where the summer went.
  20. A better name for me would be: Elspeth. I’ve always liked the name Elspeth.
  21. I have a hard time understanding: tips. I never know who to tip, how much or when. And I don’t get fruit-flavored candy. Candy should be chocolate. Or caramel.
  22. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: say to HELL with practicality, and I’ll study what I WANT to study. Like fine arts. Or graphic design. Or violin making. Or underwater basketweaving.
  23. You know I like you if: I call you a “hineyhead”. It’s a term of endearment….really.
  24. If I ever won an award, the first person I would thank would be: Depends. Are you talking an award like the Oscars? Where you have to dress to the nines, and get up in front of people, talk and be the center of attention? Then no one, because I’d be too scared to go. If someone mailed me a nice award though, I’d write a very nice thank you note. If I didn’t forget.
  25. Take my advice, never: That’s right. Never take my advice.
  26. My ideal breakfast is: Coffee. And more coffee, please, for the first couple of hours of wakefulness. THEN I’ll think about breakfast.
  27. A song I love but do not have is: Rocks and Trees, by the Arrogant Worms. I used to have it, but I lost it. Does that count?
  28. If you visit my hometown, I suggest you:visit Anderson’s Bakery and purchase some fine baked goods. One of my personal favorites are the Bismarcks. But EVERYTHING there is good.
  29. Why won’t people:STOP ASKING ME QUESTIONS?
  30. If you spend a night at my house: you’ll probably have at least one animal in the bed with you. And no, I don’t mean me.
  31. I’d stop my wedding for: Oh dear. I’m probably not the best person to ask. Himself and I considered getting married this year… even tossed out the date of Midsummer’s Eve (June 21, 2008) as a FINE day for a backyard bacchanal, BBQ, and bingo and thought we could squeeze in a wedding ceremony there somewhere. It didn’t happen. We couldn’t be bothered. So, apparently, I’d stop my wedding for … oh, almost anything!
  32. The world could do without: professional wrestling. And talk radio. And telemarketers. And…
  33. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: Ok, now that’s just GROSS. Who writes these things, anyway?
  34. My favourite blonde(s) is/are: My kids. The Girl is blonde in the traditional, ashy blonde sense. Darker in the winter, pale blonde in the summer. The Boy is a strawberry blonde (his curls as a toddler were to DIE for). I am NOT blonde. Unless you want to consider my current graying hair as blonde. It might make me feel better if you do.
  35. Paper clips are more useful than: professional wrestlers.
  36. If I do anything well it’s: a miracle?
  37. I can’t help but: loving that man. Wait. That’s not how it goes … it’s “I can’t help loving that man”. Right?
  38. I usually cry: at the drop of a hat. I cry at animated movies like Dumbo and Ice Age. And God help us all if it’s a movie MEANT to be a tear-jerker, because those in the room can’t hear the dialogue over my sniffling and there’d better be at least 2 full boxes of tissues in the house, or there will be a roll of toilet paper sitting ceremoniously on the coffee table, ready for use.
  39. My advice to my child/nephew/niece: Be happy.
  40. And by the way: Your fly is open.
4 thoughts on “meme-ing, again

  1. I love you. Always have; always will. (Well, ever since you posted a comment on my blog ages ago & then we got to meet face to face).
    I apologise if this is a bit over the top….It’s on account of having spent an unusual morning tasting wine at the vigneron’s next door.

  2. Andy, you’re too kind, but thank you. Anna’s was much betterer than mine, but it was fun to do.

    Jo, I love you too, soul sister. You rock six ways to Sunday. And I haven’t even started drinking yet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

