vacation, day 2

Reluctantly Helping Our Friends Move.

Himself has crafted a masterpiece of bartermanship, where, in exchange for helping a friend move, he’ll then get to borrow the truck for a trip to Home Depot for stuff we can’t fit in either of our teeny tiny cars. We need more insulation for the Boy’s room upstairs in the barn, plus some stuff for The Great Clean Out.

Yes, we still think we might attempt the Great Clean Out this week. You know, a la Clean Sweep, where you go through all your STUFF and organize into 3 piles: To Throw Out, To Sell, To Keep, with the hope being that your To Keep pile is dwarfed by your Get Rid Of piles.

God, we have so much STUFF.

And no, we’ll be keeping the MG and the pinball machine and the unicycle. And probably most of the band instruments. You never know when you might feel like picking up the euphonium. Or saxophone.

Anyway, Himself and the Boy went off singing this Dunkin Donuts commercial, which is one of our all-time favorites. And yes, that is They Might Be Giants.

We love them.

4 thoughts on “vacation, day 2

  1. I’m a HUGE TMBG fan as well. I want to dig them for selling out, but the commercials are soooo good and so quintessentially NY, that I can’t blame them at all.

  2. So let me get this straight, you’re going out with a Truck to buy stuff to help you get rid of stuff. Hmmm that seems to make sense. I’m sure all will be revealed.
    Happy birthday to the girl from Aunty Joey. xxxxx

  3. I’m glad to hear that your vacation is going well šŸ™‚

    Just wanted to comment and say that I hope I didn’t put you off commenting about Project Runway when I made that ‘spoiler’ comment last time.. I was only kidding. I’ve been looking for your comments ever since! heh.

    Anyway! I hope your vacation continues to be fun and productive šŸ˜›

  4. Thanks, Uma!

    We actually MISSED last week’s episode. Himself couldn’t get it in Canada, and I decided to skip it too, figuring we can catch up with it together this week.

    Finally thinking it’s time to get a Tivo.

Leave a Reply

