plenty

I’m currently reading Plenty: One man, one woman, and a raucous year of eating locally by Alisa Smith and J.B. MacKinnon, about a pair of writers who decided that for one year, they would eat only food produced within a 100-mile radius of their home (Vancouver).

The reasons for doing so are varied and “plentiful”, but are mostly about living more lightly upon the planet and reducing our carbon footprint. There are plenty of supporting facts and figures in Plenty, in case you need more convincing. There really is something inherently wasteful about importing our bottled water from Fiji, which to me has become the epitome of silliness.

I think of last summer, when the marvelous Joey and Ricardo and I went to the farm market at Creake Abbey in Norfolk, England. Local meats, local cheeses, local produce… an embarrassment of riches, and it all came from one little corner of a small island. The photo above was taken at Creake Abbey. And yes, I do understand that it’s EASY to eat locally in the height of summer.

Now, don’t fret. I’m not going to go all militantly earthy-crunchy on you. Personally, I don’t think it’s very polite to rant and rave at people. And besides, I NEED limes for my gin & tonics, OKAY?!?

However there IS something to be said for being a little more mindful about where your food comes from, and taking small steps to live more lightly… as long as it’s not TOO inconvenient.

Just providing some food for thought, so to speak.

Now I need to go sob into my cup of homebrewed fair-trade organic coffee, served in a reusable cup, while I yearn for my daily cup of Dunkins Donuts, in a Styrofoam cup.

5 thoughts on “plenty

  1. Mmm, I would LOVE nothing more than to be completely self sufficient…it would save SO much money in the long run to have a orchard full of different fruit trees, but I wouldn’t go all out and never go to town…I’d just do it to save money so I can go and buy myself another nice Wrangler jacket or go to the movies more often. You know, give a little…take a little!

  2. Y’know, I have to wonder about people that take pictures of their food!

    You can imagine the scene at home…

    Me. Mmmmm, this looks good, quick let me get my camera so I take a picture of it.

    Her. It’s ham sandwich?

    Me. I can render it into second life.

    Her. There’s something wrong with you!

Leave a Reply

