back to school



AP History, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

I love the fall.

I love Back to School time.

I love school/office supplies.

Yes, I’m a giant dork.

I can’t help it.

I love when the stores clear out the lawn chairs and garden equipment to make room for aisles and aisles of notebooks, pens and backpacks. I can browse through them for HOURS. Back to School shopping was one of my favorite rituals of childhood. I love starting the new school year with a whole new crapload of fresh supplies. You can’t go to the first day of school with used notebooks or pens. That would just be WRONG.

The girl just got a new backpack for college. I’m incredibly jealous, in spite of the fact that I still have MY very cool red plaid messenger bag for fall. Yeah, I’ve got a thing for plaid, too.

I love seeing the bright yellow school buses on the road again. But I HATE being stuck behind them on the way to work (another reason to go into work EARLY).

There’s nothing like a cup full of new, freshly sharpened old skool-style pencils. I’m also a huge Sharpie fan.

I’m not the only one. There are others obsessed with school supplies.

I know you’re out there.

Tell me I’m not alone.

3 thoughts on “back to school

  1. Office supplies make me giddy, too. Pens, pencils, pristine bottles of glue, notebooks (10 cents for a notebook! What grand things you could do with one!), markers.

    But the crayons. Ah, the crayons. A brand new 48 count box. So pretty, I wouldn’t even want to use them. The beautiful shine, the names, the vivid colors (never as good when you actually use them and see them on paper, but rich and deep to look at the actual crayon). And a 128 count box? Sheer giddiness.

  2. Ooooh count me in. I just spent ten minutes over at that pen list link. The big thing in my little life was a box of Derwent pencils. I started to really live ONLY when I had the boxed set of 72 colours.

  3. I’ve been left uni a year and really miss going shopping for new bits in August/September.

    I now work and i can never find a decent pen to write with – so i bring one from home then it gets abducted or left at home or in the car!

Leave a Reply

