the back to school bug

Ok, here’s a little secret that NOBODY knows. Well, perhaps some people know it. Alright, maybe EVERYONE knows it. But for those of you who DON’T know, lean in a little closer, and I’ll tell you something.

I don’t have a college degree.

I’ll wait for your gasps of horror and shock to subside.

I know, I know.

I MEANT to, honest. But there was that trip to Europe. And the Air Force. And a career. And marriage. And kids.

And somehow, amidst all that, the time just slipped away.

But now, NOW… I have the “back to school” bug.

It started when the local community education fall catalogs started arriving in the mail. I like community ed. So many possibilities. Cooking classes, arts & crafts, local history…. I bookmarked a couple dozen classes for further review.

Then the girl went back to college with a shiny new backpack. And I started thinking about REAL school.

I could get a real, computery degree. Or an MBA. Hmmm.

Then Himself brings home an Art History college textbook he found for his daughter, a craigslist purchase that sounded for all the world like a made-for-television drug deal. A meeting was arranged in a convenient parking lot, cash was handed over, and we have … a used TEXTBOOK!

I’ve never taken an Art History course. I bet I’d LIKE it.

I like history. I could “study” history, instead of just reading about it on my own. That would be fun.

Or…

Maybe my fairy godmother will come and bestow on me (with full flourishes, fanfare, and sparkly fairy dust, please) full tuition for the North Bennett Street School.

The violin making program.

On their first instruments, students learn the basic procedures and techniques of violin construction. The principal objective of the first year is to have students learn the proper use and care of hand tools, the properties of wood, and critical specifications of traditional instrument patterns, while making two violins. During the second and third years students develop varnishing and set-up skills, including cutting bridges, fitting sound posts, planing fingerboards and proper use of glues and clamps, while making a viola, a cello, and five additional violins.

How cool would THAT be?!?!

Do you suppose you need to know how to play the violin in order to be a good violin maker?

9 thoughts on “the back to school bug

  1. Hi… I stumbled across your blog a couple months ago, and although you don’t know me, I think you should definitely pursue your passion. You have quite the gift. Your current work would definitely get you a scholarship.

    I studied art in college and ended up with one of my degrees in it. Art history is a blast. So much to learn from the masters of the past.

    Go now …don’t wait for the faeries… do it.

  2. I don’t think you need to be able to play the violin in order to make one any more than you need to have been dead to be an undertaker 🙂

  3. Kelly – forget college degree. Seriously. Take classes. Fun classes. Dream-completing classes. The ones that answer questions about the stuff you think is interesting.

    On a different note … you don’t need to play violin in order to make one – but it would sound better if you have some idea of music.

    But wait!! You *do* have some idea of music, don’t you?? You could even use that in Lancaster on Tuesday nights!! At a college! How cool would that be?!!

    Seriously – we miss you. “We” being the second flutes at AWS. Remember us? From this summer – when we had the outdoor concert in Machlan Hall? Will you come back and play with us? Debbie has music for you, and it’s not too hard, either. Please say you’ll come back.

    If you don’t, you’ll miss things like the entire bassline playing a different piece of music than the rest of us ……

  4. I’m in two minds about the whole study thing. Usually it’s really exciting when you’re thinking about doing a course and it’s really exciting buying all the pens/textbooks etc. Then the first few classes are kind of different than you thought and pretty soon you’ve got every night filled with homework and you feel like you’re missing out on life. Having said that I did love Art History and the whole Archaic/Hellenistic period.
    I’m learning French on Tuesdays now as well as bellringing on Wednesdays and choir on Thursdays. Most weeks I just long for a night off, then some times I wish I could learn dancing.

  5. @secondflutes: damn. I missed the first rehearsal?!? We’ll be there next week fer shure.

    @jo.L: I know what you mean. I have band on Tuesday nights (see, Martha, I was paying attention!). And of course, I can’t do anything on Wednesday nights b/c of Project Runway. 🙂

    mmmm. New pens & notebooks.

  6. KP – one should never stop learning.

    You should take that class at North Bennett. And after you’ve built your violin, if need be, take lessons to play it. How cool would that be, learning to play the very instrument you so lovingly crafted.

Leave a Reply

