stupid blogger question

Ok, I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now, and I still don’t pretend to understand all the intricacies of blog hits and traffic, and SEO and E-I-E-I-O or any of that stuff. My technorati rating remains abysmal, and I’m ok with that. I do check in on my traffic from time to time (mainly to see if anyone is still reading), and have recently noticed a couple of random spikes in traffic, like so:

I’ve got no new incoming link love, and cross-checking with sitemeter shows that both of these recent spikes is in page views, NOT visits.

So what does THAT mean? Are these likely to be real people, actually reading multiple pages? Or is it (are they) bots ricocheting all over my blog?

Good thing?

Bad thing?

Nothing?

What?!?

4 thoughts on “stupid blogger question

  1. I read your blog via RSS in Google reader, on at least one occasion I “shared” one of your articles via Reader and thus caused it to show up in my RSS aggregator page: http://steampunkworkshop.com/aggregator/categories/1?page=2

    But that would have resulted in more visitors so my guess is the increase in page views is the result of people refreshing pages to see if there are new comments – were there conversation happening in comments on those days?

  2. Yeah, I don’t know either. I see the same thing. My dear wife assures me it is NOT the result of that many people being interested in what I have to say, but I think she’s lying.

  3. If the stats are gathered with javascript, I would not bet on bots: regular bots are unlikely to render pages and execute scripts.

    I do have irregular reading patterns. If I only have one or two articles unread from a feed, I read it directly from my feed reader, unless I’m curious about the comments. If there are more articles pending, I usually go to the blog itself and use the “next article” links.

    Or maybe it is you playing with the wordpress template :-P?

Leave a Reply

