vote!

I’m not going to presume to tell you who to vote for.

I’m not going to harangue you with political fervor.

I WILL tell you to get out and VOTE.

Vote for Obama. Vote for McCain. Vote for Mickey Mouse. This is YOUR chance to make your voice heard.

It’s fun. You’ll LIKE it, I swear.

Get a lahge regular from Dunks and go stand in line with your neighbors and friends.

Tweet about your voting experience. Use Twitter hashtags for Twitter Vote Report.

Don’t forget to buy something from the kids holding a bake sale by the entrance.

Check out some of the best election visualizations around.

Not in the US? You can STILL vote at http://www.iftheworldcouldvote.com/

Just do it.

Update: Simon writes:

I saw your post today mentioning the Twitter Vote Report — it’s a pretty cool way of aggregating the election day twitter data. I’ve been working on a similar election project that utilizes Twitter:

http://www.anorangeamerica.com

It aggregates tweets like Twitter Vote Report, but it creates a more abstract visualization of the aggregate conversation on Twitter showing frequency and context of election-related words. The site will pull a continuous stream of tweets mentioning Obama and McCain, representing the most-used terms as a series of bubbles. The bigger the “bubble” the more frequently the term is being used. You can hover over each word to see a graphical breakdown of each word’s use in relation to the candidates.

Thanks, Simon!

3 thoughts on “vote!

  1. I can’t make my vote count cos i’m the wrong side of the pond but I voted on the world can vote thing the other day.

    I think election is probably going to follow suit. What do you think?

  2. I’ll tell you what I would vote for. A Dunkin Donuts in Rochester, MN! We have NO doughnut shops since our Krispy Kreme went belly up. I wasn’t riled up about the election before, but now the thought of NOT having a Dunks to go to has me up in arms. Which candidate can fix that?????? (sethrob and I don’t drink coffee, and he also hates Rachel Ray, but we love doughnuts!)

Leave a Reply

