chocolate cake in a mug – not as good an idea as you might think

A cold November Sunday afternoon is the perfect time to flex one’s culinary muscles. I came across this recipe for Chocolate Cake in a Mug (via Jess at How About Orange) a few days ago, and have been dying to try it out.

It’s chocolate. It’s CAKE. In only 5 minutes! What’s not to love?

I harbored secret hopes of bestowing the secret of Chocolate Cake in a Mug upon an amazed and grateful Girl, who discovered the Betty Crocker instant cakes in college and hasn’t been the same since.

Alas, it was not to be. I should have read the comments on the forum she linked to later. You should go read. Pretty funny stuff.

Chocolate Cake in a Mug was a rubbery disappointment, although I was able to douse it in enough fudge sauce and vanilla ice cream to choke it all down.

On a separate but related note … I also bought the ingredients for a Hot Buttered Rum recipe I saw on t’interwebs.

Rum, butter, brown sugar, vanilla ice cream. How bad can it be, really?

5 thoughts on “chocolate cake in a mug – not as good an idea as you might think

  1. I like the person who wrote “I would rather poo poo in a mug and eat it.” Wow, I dislike some foods a lot, but I don’t think I could write that about anything. Of course, I’m very poor with hyperbole.

    Try this recipe from George Duran at the Food Network. I’ve made it a few times, and though the texture is not the same as baked, it satisfies when I’m craving chocolate NOW.

    Microwave Brownies

    Ingredients
    1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
    3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
    2 large eggs
    1 cup sugar
    1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    Nonstick cooking spray
    1/2 cup chocolate chips

    Directions
    Put the butter and chocolate into a microwave-safe bowl and heat on high for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds to melt the chocolate. Set aside.

    In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar.

    In a large bowl sift the flour with the baking powder and salt. Add the egg and chocolate mixtures along with the vanilla and stir well to combine.

    Spray an 8 by 8 by 2-inch or 8-inch round microwave-safe glass pan with cooking spray. Pour the batter into the pan, spread it out evenly, and scatter the chocolate chips on top. Cook on high for 5 minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest for 3 minutes before cutting and eating.

  2. Funny enough I decided to try the very same recipe on friday whilst working from home. Seemed like a great idea at the time. But mine came out pretty gross. I choked down a few bits and then actually tossed it out!!! (unheard of!)

Leave a Reply

