creature comforts

Hello from my new favorite spot in the house.

It’s a small upholstered chair in a corner of the dining room. Next to the dining room radiator. The sideboard houses a lamp which provides adequate lighting for reading, or computering, and a convenient home for my cup of tea.

I’ve taken my little footstool, one of my few attempts at upholstery, out of the bedroom and brought it here.

Do you know WHY footstools were invented?

I do now … it’s to keep your stockinged feet off the icy-cold floorboards.

I’ve got a quilt over my lap, my feet on the footstool, tea at hand… oh, who are we kidding? It’s after 5pm and it’s a gin & tonic. Shut up… and the old steam radiator behind me is rocking and rolling. And I’ve just opened Agatha Christie’s The Murder at the Vicarage.

I could SO use an overstuffed chair pulled up to a roaring fireplace, but this isn’t half bad.

Leave a Reply

