good causes

A round-up:


Australian Bushfire Relief

Jazzy over at wonderwebby has compiled a list of resources pertaining to relief efforts for the Australian bushfires.

Earth Hour 2009
Saturday, March 28, 2009, 8:30-9:30pm
Alert readers will notice that my sidebar is now sporting an oh-so-fetching Shepard Fairey poster for Earth Hour 2009. Folks around the world are turning off their lights for one hour. And it’s not going to be just you and me sitting in our little Smurf houses in the dark. The Eiffel Tower is going dark … the Golden Gate Bridge …

Check it out:

The Boy is looking for loopholes. He doesn’t mind turning off the lights, but wants to know if he can watch television. Please advise.


Small Can Be Big

Got a notification that @smallcanbebig was following me on twitter yesterday. I thought it was related to my recent Tiny House fit. But no, it’s even better.

Small Can Be Big is a website connecting local families in need with people who can help. Your donations, 100% of them, go directly to the family of your choice to address a one-time urgent need. You can help a mother buy a wheelchair for her disabled son, or help a family get their heat turned back on.

Thinking globally, acting locally. What a great idea!

Twestival
On 12 February 2009, 175+ cities around the world will be hosting Twestivals which bring together Twitter communities for an evening of fun and to raise money and awareness for charity: water.

Boston’s Twestival

***
p.s. how do you like my new blog header? I made it myself.

Too … pink?

4 thoughts on “good causes

  1. Ha! hahahahahahaha!

    Let’s see .. wait a minute … NO.

    i. it’s FAR (it’s in Cambridge, which is a lovely town but might as well be the MOON, as far as I’m concerned)
    II. it’s cold out
    b. it involves leaving the house
    iii. it involves schmoozing with other people, some of whom I don’t even KNOW. Ick.
    4. it would probably be inappropriate to show up in my flannel PJs.
    6a. There will be “social media experts” there. Ack.
    K. Did I mention it’s cold? And far? GAG.
    10. And I bet they can’t even make a decent gin & tonic.

    Mail me the ants.

Leave a Reply

