it’ll grow back

So, today, for the first time in …. oh, let’s say 20 years, I got a haircut. A real haircut. With blow-drying and Product and STUFF. From a real hairstylist.

My biggest problem with haircuts and hair styles is that they require …styling. Blow-drying and Product and stuff.

I can’t IMAGINE spending hours in the bathroom every morning, primping and preening and applying six million different products to one’s face and hair before venturing forth to face the world. It’s too much work, it takes too much time, and frankly, I don’t have the phat mad skilz for it. I’d much rather use that time more productively. Like sleeping.

So my usual haircare routine is to “towel dry, run a comb through it, restrain the wildest parts and go” which allows for the latest possible wake-up call. Most hairstyles require a little more attention than that, therefore my choice has been to do nothing. Ever. But as it got longer and greyer and wilder and crazier, I started to feel that the only accessory I was missing was the witches’ hat. Or a grocery cart.

So I decided to get a haircut.

I actually decided this several months ago. Took me several weeks to screw up my courage to make an appointment. Which I cancelled the day of, pleading “too much work”, which I am SURE you realize was a pathetically lame and transparent excuse. Fact is … I chickened out. It then took me another several weeks to reschedule, which I finally did.

The results are here.

The good news, or the bad news, depending on how you look at it, is that I will never be able to replicate this look again, even though I did stop at the store and buy a hair dryer, a round brush, and some Product.

Which I will try to use probably twice, before giving up in total frustration.

I love the haircut. I’m just curious to see what it’ll look like in REAL life. 🙂

5 thoughts on “it’ll grow back

  1. I know exactly what you mean by not being able to replicate it, and wondering what it looks like in “real life”.

    But I love it!

  2. Gorgeous!!! I get layers in my hair and for the first week or two I can usually leave it out comfortably but after that I go nuts…I can’t stand having my hair out! Whcih reminds me, I’m about due for a haircut…err, about 4 months ago actually!

  3. Wow! That’s really good – not that I should be surprised – but it’s a keeper. I bet your colleagues at work were impressed.

Leave a Reply

