the joys of puttering

My favorite way to spend the weekend.

From dictionary.com

put⋅ter   [puht-er]
–verb (used without object)
1. to busy or occupy oneself in a leisurely, casual, or ineffective manner: to putter in the garden.
2. to move or go in a specified manner with ineffective action or little energy or purpose: to putter about the house on a rainy day.
3. to move or go slowly or aimlessly; loiter.

I can amuse myself for hours, and often do, just with puttering around the house.

The hardest part is stepping away from the computer, where I can easily spend hours trying to devour all the goodness out there.

Going into the kitchen for more coffee, I see some dishes in the sink. So I load the dishwasher. Opening the fridge for the cream, I catch sight of the Trader Joe ready-made pie crusts, and decide to remind myself to make the cherry pie I’ve been promising all weekend by taking out the ingredients and placing them on the kitchen counter, as a visible reminder.

Oh, a photo op!

While I’m in the kitchen, I put a few more things away. and FINALLY remember to put Tabasco sauce on the grocery list.

In the act of returning the box of cereal back to its cupboard in the breakfast room, my eye is caught by the pile of paperwork and bills on the table there. Now is as good a time as any, so I grab the paper recycling bag and sort through the mess, bills to one side, paper trash in the bag. I wrestle with myself over some particularly alluring bits of junk mail, and set some aside for the art room. I do not return them to the art room NOW, because that would threaten any remaining bits of productivity this bout of puttering might result in for the rest of the house. Not now. Later maybe.

Puttering gives you little islands of aesthetic joy amidst the sea of chaos.

I’ve moved to the dining room table now, which is COVERED with crap, including a serger, a giant talking C3PO Pez dispenser, a round magnifying work light, a voltage meter, stereo headphones, a tire gauge, liquid AND gel medium, and a interlock defeater for an Indigo 3250 digital printing press.

It’s Putter Central.

But I notice that the plants in the dining room need a drink. So I oblige.

I seem to have two major projects going on at the table at this moment … one involving paint, and the other involving beads. I spend a couple of minutes separating the projects into two separate untidy heaps and move on.

At some point, I make the cardinal mistake of drifting into the art room and am seduced into collecting, admiring and sorting all my ribbon scraps and storing them neatly in their own box.

Sparkly things.

There’s more of this flitting about happening all day. I get a lot done, but the BEST part is that since it was accomplished under the guise of “puttering” and not as “chores”, it’s enjoyable and relaxing and happy.

Gotta run. NOW I’m going to make the cherry pie. 🙂

2 thoughts on “the joys of puttering

  1. I see NO cherry pie! – And I DO hear clattering and humming from upstairs… and on the table you missed just a couple of things. Headphones, Puffs Plus, a spool of cord suitable for measuring, 70-80 watch batteries, (1) 35 mm camera that is giving me fits-a Beseler Topcon, Two Mickey Mouse watches-one running, a pilot’s watch, laptop battery, Leatherman, various LED lights, 3″ reel-to-reel tape recorder, battery charger, approximately less than fifty tools of various types, a passcode generator, a two time zone watch, a book of ideas, an antique Koh-I-Nor Rapidograph 000, a bag of cables, adapters, power supplies, etc. that I travel with, a ceramic coaster and two rubber jar openers.

Leave a Reply

