pft



pft, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

I’m still here.

Just been a little busy. Doing Very Important Things. Like re-arranging the magnetic letters on the dryer.

And working on my latest quilt rescue.

I found this quilt in my favorite consignment shop. Definitely a vintage scrap quilt, tied, not quilted, and with a fun backing fabric. It’s in somewhat delicate condition, due to its age. Some of the patches (and seams) are disintegrating. I can catch glimpses of the pink and yellow wool blanket that serves as batting. I love the fact that some of these 3″ square patches were pieced themselves out of even smaller fabric pieces.

I don’t look at these quilts as museum pieces, but as living history. I don’t want to put them behind glass and display them, I want to USE them. I want to wrap myself and my family in them. I want to curl up under it and admire the handwork.

Here, I’ll let you in on a little secret … I have a quilting frame, but I never use it. Nor do I use a hoop. I want to be able to drape the quilt over me while I quilt it, usually curled up on the couch.

Anyway, so far, for this quilt, I have confined myself to repairing the seams of the blocks and hand-quilting it. Both of these activities will, I hope, make the fragile quilt stronger and more durable, so we’ll get another generation or two out of it.

But what should I do about the fabrics that are so shredded that they are irreparable? Would it be too awful of me to patch it with newer fabric? And if not, what would be the best way to go about it?

While you think about it, I’m going to go take care of ANOTHER Very Important Thing: a nap.

4 thoughts on “pft

  1. That quilt is beeeeeeeautiful. I think it’s old owner would be really pleased for you to add a little of your own love to it. Go for it KP you have my approval.

  2. I don’t use my hoop or frame either…I quilt with it draped over my legs. I thought it was just me! I hope you repair that quilt!

Leave a Reply

