making music



Americans We, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

We’re playing music again … with the Atlantic Wind Symphony Summer Pops.

It’s been a while, but the muscle memory is starting to return for old favorites like Americans We.

There are some new pieces too … Chuck Mangione’s Bellavia is my latest earworm. Being totally unfamiliar to me, I bought it on iTunes because although I can sight-read, I learn much faster if I know what it’s supposed to sound like. I listened to it so much this week, I think I now know it by heart. I just wish I wasn’t sitting in front of the 1st trumpets, who for 32 measures play in a octave usually reserved for the piccolo, directly into my ear.

We’ve got an arrangement of the Overture from Bizet’s The Pearl Fishers that is a challenge as well. .. and I can only find this arrangement on poor-quality amateur videos on YouTube.

But it’s great fun and a good challenge… keeps me on my toes.

The concert is only a few weeks away … time to practice some more!

3 thoughts on “making music

  1. Surely you haven’t switched to reed instruments? Although you will probably never return to the NVCB, you should drop in at O’Hanlons – best beer selection in the area, as you know.

Leave a Reply

