as purists everywhere cringe



as purists everywhere cringe, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

One of my quilt rescues.

It wasn’t a particularly wonderful example of a vintage quilt, but I fell in love with the stars.

Lovely red, pink, blue and white stars, depending on the degree of fading (and that degree varies wildly across this quilt), chunkily blanket-stitched on white, liberally stained squares of poor quality fabric that is deteriorating rapidly. The backing is a particularly heinous light blue polyester sheet. It was not quilted, but tied.

So I brought it home and have been working on it in fits and starts.

I started quilting it. I took the bold step of patching the holey parts with contrasting fabric of similar color to their original neighbors, blanket-stiched, again, to match the original.

I patched the worst spots, and then spot-treated the worst stains and threw the quilt into a light bleach load in the washer.

Line dried in today’s beautiful weather, I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out.

It has been successfully rehabilitated into a household quilt that can continue to be used, loved, and worked on…. for a loooong time. 🙂

One thought on “as purists everywhere cringe

  1. It looks absolutely perfect. And hey I think I spot a piece of my fabric in there. Well done you kitten lover you. xxxxx
    Hugs from us. xx

Leave a Reply

