be my guest



sunlit church, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

Making “Holy Noise”

That’s what they’ll be doing on Sunday, October 24, according to the notice they left on my mailbox today.

Saturday, October 24 is a common call for Climate Action around the globe to reduce the planet’s concentration of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere which is beyond what is healthy.

One symbolic action churches are engaging in is to ring their bells 350 times. Why 350 times? Scientists say that 350 parts per million CO2 in the atmosphere is the safe limit for humanity. At the moment we are at 387 parts per million in 2009. If you would like to find out more, go to www.350.org.

It was nice of them to warn us … a neighborly thing to do, but really, totally unnecessary.

I love church bells. It’s one of my favorite things about living here. I love that the church bell chimes the hour around the clock. We’re particularly amused when it synchs up with the grandfather clock.

Ring them all day long if you like. We don’t mind.

I can only hope that the UCC and the Baptists are participating too.

3 thoughts on “be my guest

  1. Yay, what a great thing to do. I’ll tell Ray our tower captain & see if we can get in on the act. You should take up bellringing Kelly if you like the sound, it’s an amazing extreme sport.

  2. My friend had the bells rung at her wedding at the weekend – CJ then gave me a lesson in bell ringing! yay! lol. I used to do hand bell ringing rather than the rope pulling ones (I would have been carried off into the rafters lol)

Leave a Reply

