blueberry cobbler

It’s turned bitterly cold here over the past couple of days, temps below zero overnight, warming to only 20ºF or so during the day. Strong winds make it feel even colder.

It’s times like these that call for “comfort food” – simple, warm, hearty, and satisfying.

I am the Queen of Comfort Food. Bring it on, baby: meat loaf and smashed potatoes; bread pudding and custard sauce; tuna casserole, macaroni and cheese; beef stroganoff, American chop suey, hell, ANY casserole. Biscuits and gravy. Fruit cobblers and cookies.

I was gloating on Twitter earlier today about my warm blueberry cobbler with ice cream and got a request for the recipe, so I figured that might make a good occasional blog feature – I’ll share with you some of my favorites, so that you too may soon be the size of a Hummer H2.

Future posts will be more organized, and I’ll aim to include pictures, which I can’t do this time, because, well, it’s all gone. But for now, here is my recipe for

Blueberry Cobbler

Ingredients:
Some amount of blueberries1
½ c. butter, melted
¾ C. firmly packed brown sugar
¾ c. quick-cooking oatmeal
½ c. flour
cinnamon, to taste2

1.Preheat oven to 350º. Grease shallow 1 ½ qt quiche dish or pie plate.
2.Arrange blueberries in prepared dish. Combine melted butter, sugar, oatmeal and cinnamon, mix together well, and sprinkle over blueberries.
3.Bake 45 minutes.

Serve warm with whipped cream, or my personal favorite, Haagen Daz Five “Vanilla Bean” ice cream.

1the original recipe called for a quart of blueberries. All I had were two small cartons of blueberries from the grocery store, so that’s what I used. Worked out fine.

2 the original recipe called for 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, which, after I poured it on top of the firmly packed brown sugar in the prep bowl, seemed a little excessive. I ended up using a couple of dashes, but only after attempting to shake out the extra cinnamon from the top of the prep bowl and managing to dump the entire contents of the bowl, firmly packed brown sugar and all, into the kitchen trash, and having to start over again.

You can make that part optional.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

