it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye

Himself informed me this afternoon, in a very grumbly sort of voice, that several bird nests were now gracing the eaves of our back porch.

I, as you might imagine, was ecstatic, falling all over myself on my way to grab the camera. I’m thinking oh, cute little birdlets starting their families, sharing the moment with us. Tuning us in just a little closer to the natural rhythms of the seasons, yadda, yadda.

Himself has a different outlook on the situation. Featured prominently in his version are territorial, over-protective parental units, maniacal chirping, swooping, and eye-pecking.

We’ll probably never be able to use the back porch again.

I blame Alfred Hitchcock.

2 thoughts on “it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye

  1. Hahaha, that’s my issue.

    I was fine with birds up until high school when we watched The Birds in class.

    Now, I prefer those birds who can’t fly (like Penguins!) and people think I’m crazy. It’s just one of those things…

Leave a Reply

