mud season

You may be happy to learn that winter is finally easing its grip and the snow is finally melting.

My colleagues in North Carolina report that the spring flowers are in bloom. I’m trying not to be jealous.

We’ve still got a few weeks of mud season to get through. It’s my least favorite time of the year here in New England. Melting snow reveals a season’s worth of road salt/sand, and the bare patches of ground that are starting to show look brown and dead.

The vernal stream is in full spate, with all the melting snow. What snow piles that are left are steaming. Every time Dog goes out, he comes back smelling like Lake Michigan. That observation is courtesy of Himself. I’ve never had the pleasure.

Personally, I am reminded of Onondaga Lake.

In any case, maybe that goes some small way to explain my color choice here, which I absolutely love:

Wait til you see what color I paint the stairs! :-0

2 thoughts on “mud season

  1. Thanks, girlfriend. I am so NOT a star, however, having spent the last 5 years just staring at the walls, wondering what to do with them 🙂

Leave a Reply

