skilled trades rock!

I gave Mike Rowe a standing ovation on this one.

(via Jason O’Donnell on Facebook)

One thought on “skilled trades rock!

  1. Well put. I couldn’t agree more. I was one of the great group (at the time) of 1st year college students who were weeded out in the first semester. The whole experience cost me 595 dollars. I still regret wasting THAT much on it… nonetheless it took me almost ten years to get to the point of income where I was on par with my peers who went to college and were working in various engineering (mostly) fields. I have no idea how long it took to pay off their school loans but I imagine between most of them and myself it was just about a wash between higher income initially and expense of school versus my seat-o-the-pants method.
    It wasn’t too long ago that I said I would never recommend my way to anyone, but I always though to myself it was better all around -at least for me. Now I talk to people of all sorts (Now that I am a teacher! HA!) and find that there is maybe a 5% correlation between areas of study and areas of employment… and what’s more, people didn’t go to school for the thirst for knowledge (very rare) but because they wanted to say they went to school… like another hurdle to overcome. Very often the actual courses that were taken had so little to do with the field of study that I couldn’t help but wonder if the schools weren’t padding things a little just to keep themselves in business.
    Ahh, but there are so many things I don’t understand.

    Sometimes I can’t help but wonder if it’s just an amazing grasp for the obvious.

Leave a Reply

