the trip of the lifetime

Promenade, originally uploaded by gailf548.

I love boats. I love ships. I love the ocean.

No, you don’t understand. LOVE.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been on a cruise. A loooooong time. The Colonel and Major Mom introduced me to the decadent pleasures of cruising many many years ago. I’ve missed it.

One particular kind of voyage that I’ve always wanted to take was a transatlantic cruise. Days on the ocean, with no land in sight. Time out of mind.

Well, I’m finally doing it. After decades of saying “no, sorry, I’m too busy…” “I can’t take the time off work”, and “we can’t pull the kids out of school”, this April I am joining the Colonel and Major Mom on a 15-day Caribbean/transatlantic repositioning cruise.

15 days!

I’ve never done such a thing.

I’m not sure I know how.

But I have grand plans … getting to know the ‘rents again, reading, reading, reading, drawing, writing, eating, drinking, sitting in the sun, and breathing in that wonderful sea air 24/7.

If you need me, I’ll be on the promenade deck.

3 thoughts on “the trip of the lifetime

Leave a Reply

