crisis of faith



sketchbook, originally uploaded by kellypuffs.

Sorry I’ve been a sucky blogger.

I’m having a little crisis of faith AND I’m hating on EVERYTHING these days, which makes it difficult to produce the kind of light-hearted (*snort*, I first wrote that as “light-headed”) drivel one has come to expect here.

And I HATE writing crankypants posts, because they live on forever, and where in reality, none of this stuff is earth-shattering or even important, and though I’ll feel better probably as SOON as I hit the “publish” button and get it out, it leaves a whole different impression here, but there it is.

I’m hating on my “art”, my writing, even my beloved web 2.0 crap, which seems to have been taken over by hordes of folks trying to sell me THEIR crap.

“Social networking” has become “Social media”, which has become “social media marketing”.

It’s not about connecting with people anymore, it’s about connecting with people so we can sell them shit they don’t need… like, say, social media expertise.

I’m hating on folks ruining crap for everyone else.

Just for example, hypothetically, if the town’s firemen are kind enough to flood an area of the town park for your ice skating pleasure, for FREE, that does NOT give you the right to complain that it’s not GOOD enough, and demand MORE amenities. FOR FREE.

What the hell, people?!? Whatever happened to saying “Wow, thanks a lot! That’s saved me a lot of trouble … let me help!” Talk to the Colonel. He put in hours of sweat equity when I was younger helping to maintain a community rink in a town park parking lot so that we kids would have a place to skate and play hockey.

Art-wise, I’m in desperate need of inspiration. I’m in the creative doldrum these days, and even when I produce something, ANYTHING, like a crappy drawing in ball-point pen in a notebook, it’s like “eh”.

I’m tired and cranky, and the only place I’m kicking ass these days is at work.

I need a double dose of vitamins, and an extra shot of creative energy, and then maybe I can take the crankypants off and get back to rocking and rolling.

How have YOU guys been?

7 thoughts on “crisis of faith

  1. Dear Miss Crankpants. I’m so glad to come over here and see a crankypants blog rant. It must be a general malaise. I’ve been having more than my share of the blues lately for no apparent reason other than my delightful husband is busy, busy working and I always seem to be just hanging ’round waiting for a crumb from under his table. Get a grip Joey.
    Dearest Kelly if it helps at all, I look at the ATC’s you gave me and think WOW, one incredibly clever human being. As with everything it will pass and in the mean time I’m sending you BIG LOVE.

  2. Funny you should be in a “down” mode. Just this morning I was reviewing all your artwork on flickr, and being amazed at how creative you are, in so many different mediums. Think of the old Indian saying I used to lay on you frequently: “I cried because I had no shoes, until I met a man who had no feet. Cheer up, Bucko!

  3. If you need a replacement for Andy in the ‘Good Peeps’ list on the right, I’d be happy to volunteer! In fact I’m generally pretty happy about most things right now. If you manage to avoid someone selling you something for more than five minutes, you’re doing pretty well, so the old order setting up camp on social networks is no big surprise. It’s summer- get a nice and bright art something done quick before the ice storms return. Even better, you’ve introduced me to the word ‘crankypants’ which is inspired, and is something I’m already looking forward to getting in trouble for using it in everyday conversation. I’m even pretty positive that the build I just kicked off is going to work, and I’m leaving the office early…

    I’m not helping am I?

Leave a Reply

