adventuring

The Girl and I are off on a new adventure today, exploring uncharted territory.

We’re a little nervous, but we are intrepid and fearless, even in the face of daunting, exotic new experiences, and therefore we will set forth boldly and see what this new adventure brings us.

We’re going to the bridal shop!

Not for US, silly … but as part of the entourage accompanying the Boy’s future bride, as she shops for a wedding dress.

Despite having 3 separate chances, I have never personally engaged in this particular ritual.

I JUST learned last night from the Boy that there is a even a reality show on TV now called “Say Yes to the Dress” devoted to this particular adventure. Who knew?

Then I learned from Major Mom that there can be many rules about this sort of thing … for example, as Mother of Groom, I select the color of my dress last.

I’ve seen Four Weddings and a Funeral several times. Hats seem to feature prominently.

And painful shoes.

I am sure to get it wrong. Not out of spite, just out of ignorance.

I need a book.

Or my friends on t’internets. You’ve got several months to ensure I don’t embarrass the Boy.

Help a sister out … what are the rules for this Mother of the Groom thing?

Thanks in advance.

4 thoughts on “adventuring

  1. You must have heard this before, but here goes anyway:
    The mother of the groom shall wear beige and keep her mouth shut.

  2. I’m with Peter. Staying away and staying quiet is your best bet. If it seems like people are wanting to take over, let them. Keep asking The Boy if there is anything you are missing; otherwise, don’t worry about it and stay blissfully ignorant.

  3. Yay and double-yay! “Staying away and staying quiet” is what I do BEST and “blissfully ignorant” is my middle name. (see color quiz above)! 😀

    So relieved to learn that nothing more is expected of me.

    Now that we have THAT settled …

    … is it naptime yet?

Leave a Reply

